This must be my lucky week!

2 Apr

Yesterday, I found out that my bus fare would be dropping from $1.75 to $1.25, and I thought that had to be the best transit news of the week.

But this morning I was pleasantly surprised to walk up to my somewhat neglected 1R bus stop on 59th and Telegraph to see this:

busshelter.jpg busshelter2.jpg

It’s a bit bare bones – no maps or bench yet and it’s hard to tell if there will be a Nextbus screen installed, but honestly, they could leave it as is and I’d be happy. I can’t tell you what a pain it was this rainy season attempting to hold an umbrella and sometimes heavy bags. Now I’ll be able to hang out under a shelter and stay dry.

Now if the city or county would just paint a crosswalk at my 1 stop, I’d be almost fully contented with my transit experience.

2 Responses to “This must be my lucky week!”

  1. Capricious Commuter April 2, 2008 at 6:17 pm #

    Congratulations on the new shelter, and good luck with the crosswalk. I have one question: Where did you hear about the 50-cent discount on bus fares with TransLink? I need to pay better attention to such things.

  2. Becks April 2, 2008 at 6:42 pm #

    From the AC Transit email list. It’s low traffic and provides a lot of useful information, especially for people like me who depend on buses to get around.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

