Party in Downtown on Friday

1 May

It seems like I’m always out of town when all the fun stuff is going on, but if I wasn’t going to be in San Diego tomorrow, I’d be having a full night of fun and arts in downtown Oakland…

First, I’d stop by the grand opening reception for Awaken Cafe. I finally managed to stop by earlier this week, and it’s beautiful inside. High ceilings, artwork everywhere, and tons of sun shining in through the windows. The reception will also be an art showing, as the cafe is featuring artwork by Mia Nakono, an Oakland photographer. Here’s how Awaken’s press release describes her:

She has honed her skills working on projects in China, Japan, Nepal, and the US. Her work focuses on documenting the culture, struggles, and people within minority communities, from queer rights activists to Tibetan Buddhists.

I didn’t get to look at her photos long before I grabbed a delicious cup of Pacific Coast Breakfast tea, but they did look intriguing and it’d be worth stopping by for a more in depth look.

Next, I’d wander around uptown, stopping by some of the art galleries that participate in the First Friday Oakland Art Murmur. I don’t know much about most of the galleries, so I’d probably just wander down Telegraph and then weave down 24th or 25th to Broadway.

After I had my fill of art, I’d head down Broadway to Sweet’s Ballroom for the Oakland Indie Awards, honoring local businesses and artists. I’d enjoy the food, wine, art, and music. At the end of the night, I’d likely stumble to the Uptown Transit Center on 20th between Broadway and Telegraph to hop on the 1, which would drop me off right in front of my apartment.

Hopefully – since I won’t be enjoying any of these activities tomorrow night – some of my readers will get the opportunity to partake.

Here’s your itinerary to make it simple:

Awaken Cafe Grand Opening Reception
5-9pm
Awaken Cafe
414 14th Street, between Franklin and Broadway
www.awakencafe.com

Oakland Art Murmur
6-10pm
Various galleries throughout uptown
www.oaklandartmurmur.com

Oakland Indie Awards
Awards Party: 5:30-8pm
Afterparty with music: 8-11pm
Historic Sweet’s Ballroom
1933 Broadway, between 19th and 20th
www.oaklandunwrapped.org/indies

3 Responses to “Party in Downtown on Friday”

  1. Leah May 2, 2008 at 7:50 am #

    Thanks for the heads up on the Awaken Cafe. Can’t wait to check it out.

    More on the Oakland Art Murmur here:

    http://morewaystowastetime.blogspot.com/2008/05/things-i-hella-love-about-oakland-art.html

    All the best,

    Leah

  2. ScottPark May 5, 2008 at 3:21 pm #

    The First Friday Art Murmur is on the second Friday of the month?

  3. Becks May 5, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    Scott – no, it’s on the first Friday of the month, as in this past Friday, May 2nd. If you missed it this month, the next one will be on Friday, June 6th.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

