Occupy Oakland raided & dismantled by police this morning

25 Oct

I know, I know – I promised yesterday that today I’d publish my endorsements for the November Oakland ballot measures. But when I turned on my computer this morning I was met with several press releases about the Occupy Oakland early morning raid and hundreds of #OccupyOakland tweets. I got a bit wrapped up in what’s happening so my endorsements will have to wait until tomorrow, though you can join in the discussion in the election open thread.

I wasn’t there this morning, so I don’t have much to say about what happened at this point, but plenty has been written about the raid and I’ve gathered some of that coverage below. I’ll add links throughout the day week so if you have any suggestions, leave them in the comments below. And if you took any photos that you’d like to share, please email them to me at oaklandbecks at gmail dot com and I’ll post them here.

Even if you don’t have time to read the stories about the raid, I highly recommend checking out this powerful collection of photos.

Here are the stories I’ve read so far (I’m adding new stories to the end of the list as I find them):

Day 1 – October 25, 2011

Day 2 – October 26, 2011

Day 3 – October 27, 2011

Day 4 – October 28, 2011

3 Responses to “Occupy Oakland raided & dismantled by police this morning”

  1. JC October 27, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    I was a big supporter of Jean Quan in her first election. I cannot believe she is allowing this to happen. She is either demonstrating that she has absolutely zero control or that she doesn’t give a crap about the rights and the plights of Oakland’s citizens. I’m not sure which is the scarier scenario. People need to stop blaming the officers in uniform and start looking to the elected officials that are letting these affronts to our civil liberties occur. I’m now ashamed that I voted for Jean.

  2. George October 27, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    Thanks Rebecca. Can’t say that I’m super thrilled with the non-non-violent protesting, and the trashing/graffiti/etc. at FO Plaza. But the police response seems disproportionate.

    The comments on Jean’s facebook page are brutal– go take a look.

    I wonder if anybody on this list is rethinking their political judgment:

    http://www.jeanquanforoakland.org/supporters

    Probably not. Too busy mindlessly trashing Don Perata to look in the mirror and see where the real problems in Oakland lie:

    http://georgewillcoxon.com/2011/10/24/the-political-economy-of-oakland/

  3. Cameron October 28, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Jean Quan’s flip-flops on responsibility are surprising to some of the protesters, but not to many of us who live in Oakland and have watched her for years. She blamed a computer system for OUSD’s financial meltdown, her neighbors for her blighted property, the financial crisis for Oakland’s budget issues which started long before 2008, and even her husband for thousands of dollars in unpaid parking tickets. Not taking responsibility and blaming others seems to be a pattern for her.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

