Still Waiting…

10 Mar

Back in December, I wrote about waiting for Awaken Cafe to open. I’ve been walking by the cafe daily, watching as work progresses. Sometimes the doors are open and I get to peek in. It looks great, and it’s really exciting to see the transformation from the Golden Bull’s dive bar atmosphere – which I loved – to an art filled cafe.

I’ve also been keeping up with their blog, where I get to see some of of their eco-friendly art:

Awaken Cafe Tile  Awaken Cafe Mosaic

It’s fun to keep up with, but I’m still wishing they’d open already. Their website still says they’ll be open in early 2008. Hopefully it will be soon…

And now I have even more to wait for in downtown Oakland. OaklandGoods tipped me off a couple weeks ago that Souley Vegan – a vegan soul food restaurant – was opening on Feburary 29th, so I showed up for opening day. But it didn’t open. They were supposed to open today, but when I walked by around 10am, they didn’t look quite ready. I did see someone carrying in potatoes and bottles of water so hopefully they’ll be open later this week. I can’t wait – mmm, veggie soul food.

And then today, I learned from V Smoothe that Bakesale Betty might be opening up a shop in downtown! I sometimes splurge on their cookies at the Temescal Farmers Market, and they are incredibly yummy.

Downtown Oakland is certainly changing, and I’m glad to see so many new culinary options popping up. Now I just have to deal with the wait…

8 Responses to “Still Waiting…”

  1. V Smoothe March 10, 2008 at 6:16 pm #

    It does seem sometimes that everything around here moves at a glacial pace. I remember waiting for Breads of India to open for something like 2 years!

  2. Becks March 10, 2008 at 6:32 pm #

    That’s terrible! I hope we don’t have to wait that long again.

  3. V Smoothe March 12, 2008 at 1:07 am #

    The vegan soul food place was open tonight, fyi.

  4. Becks March 12, 2008 at 10:23 am #

    Yay! I’ll have to go check it out this week.

  5. Farrah March 12, 2008 at 5:03 pm #

    Where is Souley Vegan located? I love their cart at the Grand Lake farmers market.

  6. Becks March 12, 2008 at 5:09 pm #

    Souley Vegan’s at 431 13th St, in between Broadway and Franklin. Just a few steps away from 12th Street BART and many AC Transit bus lines.

  7. c to the m March 27, 2008 at 4:34 pm #

    souley vegan is in fact open
    m-f, 11-9, weekend hours TBD

    holla!

  8. Becks March 28, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    I finally made it there today. Yum! The crispy tofu is spicy and scrumptious. The collard greens were a bit over flavored for my taste, but still good. And the yams were soft and sweet. A bit pricey, but I’ll definitely be returning soon.

Leave a Reply

