Rear Boarding on AC Transit Buses?!?!

11 Mar

As I got off the 1R today on my way to work, I noticed that Translink card readers had been installed on all of the rear doors of the bus! The rear readers weren’t in service yet, and I can’t find information about this change anywhere on AC Transit’s or Translink’s sites, but I can’t imagine they’re just there for show.

Translink’s already made my life easier (and my life will be even easier when BART and Muni start excepting the cards), but this would be a huge improvement. One of the major hurdles in keeping rapid buses running on time is slow boarding. Of course, we’ll need BRT to eliminate the other major consistency hurdle – traffic – but this is a great step in the right direction.

So I’m hoping that the Translink readers I saw were not just a fluke, and I’m going to keep my eyes peeled to see if I can spot more of them. Has anyone else heard about this or seen the rear door machines?

Leave a Reply

