Downtown Beginnings and Endings

15 Apr

Today was a bit of a bittersweet day for me. As I walked back from lunch, I was horrified to see one of my favorite Indian restaurants, Sabina, closed. The signs said they were just closed for “remodeling”, but they also said that a new restaurant (called Spicey Monkey or something like that) was coming soon. I’m sorry, but I have a hard time believing that Sabina will turn into Spicey Monkey without changing significantly. I’ll certainly miss the generous lunch buffet and their excellent saag paneer.

But then, on my way to the bus, I saw that the doors to Awaken Cafe were open so I peeked my head in. It looks beautiful and seems ready to me! The tiled back wall is colorful and welcoming, and the drink list is already up. I’ve been waiting for months for them to open, so I asked the woman inside how much longer I’d have to wait. She said they’d probably be open Monday. Yay!

I guess this is just the nature of small businesses – they come and they go. So though I’ll miss Sabina and it’s beautiful decor (can you name one other downtown restaurant with a fountain in it?), I’m looking forward to the new beginnings at Awaken Cafe and the several new retail spaces due to open in Uptown.

2 Responses to “Downtown Beginnings and Endings”

  1. Jessica April 18, 2008 at 3:14 pm #

    Doesn’t New World Vegetarian on Old Oakland have a fountain?🙂

  2. Becks April 18, 2008 at 3:19 pm #

    You know, I haven’t been there in over a year, but I really didn’t remember them having a fountain. Guess I’ll have to go check it out next week. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

