Awaken Cafe Opened Today!

21 Apr

Just a quick note – Awaken Cafe has finally opened! I feel pretty lame because I didn’t actually get a chance to go in and get some coffee (meetings all day), but I did get to walk by and look inside at the tiled wall and paintings hanging everywhere. Though the cafe’s still in it’s first mini-phase, it was still inviting and somehow spacious.

Here’s an image from the email they sent out announcing the opening:

Awaken Cafe

If you haven’t been following my impatience, I started waiting for Awaken to open back in 2007. I’m glad they’re finally open and look forward to the opening party and art reception on May 2nd.

Here’s where and when to find Awaken:

414 14th Street (btw Broadway & Franklin)
Oakland, CA 94612
(It’s easy to get there via public transit – get off at the 12th Street BART station or take just about any AC Transit line to Broadway and 14th.)

Monday through Friday: 7 am to 6 pm
Saturday & Sunday: 8 am to 2 pm

3 Responses to “Awaken Cafe Opened Today!”

  1. ManSeekingCoffee April 22, 2008 at 10:11 pm #

    I hear you. It’s about time. They chose to open on a day I wasn’t even at the office so I’ll hopefully get there soon as well.

  2. The Overhead Wire April 26, 2008 at 8:10 pm #

    My co-workers were all really excited. Its right below my building and they were getting tired of Tulleys. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. OaklandGoods » What’s brewing downtown - April 24, 2008

    […] According to Living in the O, Awaken Cafe has finally opened its doors, on 14th between Franklin and Broadway. […]

Leave a Reply

