Can’t take the heat?

21 Jun

Today, I went to check by blog stats and saw that somebody had found Living in the O by searching for “where to go on hot days in oakland.” I thought about how disappointed that web searcher must have been because I have no idea how to answer that question.

I don’t do very well coping with heat. I can handle it during the day – cold drinks, fans, open windows (or at my office, air conditioning), sitting in the shade. But last night was just too much. I couldn’t get to sleep until 2:30am and then I woke up at 6:30am because my room was already overwhelmingly hot.

Every window was open, our large fan was on high and pointed directly at my head, but it didn’t matter. I couldn’t get back to sleep so at 7:00am, I threw a blanket and pillow down on the floor of our living room, opened the back door to the balcony and laid down. It was much cooler on the floor so I managed to sleep past 10:00am.

Nights like last night are some of the few times I wish I didn’t live in the East Bay. (After spending 18 summers of my life in the unbearably hot San Fernando Valley, I though I had escaped such extreme weather by moving to the Bay Area.) I was joking with my girlfriend last night that we need a summer home in San Francisco that we can use on hot nights like these (she of course countered that we could just get a couple more fans).

So today I plan to be outside in the shade a lot drinking some ice tea and munching on cherries, and maybe I’ll seek out a sprinkler to run in. What do you do to cool off on days like these?

(Oh, and for anyone who’s wondering, I did make it to the Safeway community meeting the other night – which was also unbearably hot and crowded. Maybe the heat made everyone cranky, but the night was intense and contentious. People booed at me when I spoke and screamed that I was lying! And after the meeting was over, an owner of one of the small businesses on College interrupted a conversation I was having to yell at me. You’ll have to check back tomorrow for all the sordid details.)

3 Responses to “Can’t take the heat?”

  1. linm June 21, 2008 at 7:13 pm #

    Yea. It is unbearably hot in the San Fernando Valley. It hit 112 degrees F today. Sticky too. Infinitely better than cloudy skies though.

  2. montclairoak June 22, 2008 at 12:56 am #

    There is day-time escape! Just head down into the Redwood Regional Park, the trees provide instant relief. Whether you are a real hiker or just saunter, it’s not far to get into the trees.

    (Unfortunately, the night-time solve would be moving into the hills. We’re doing okay here but with a few windows opened.)

  3. Becks June 22, 2008 at 10:51 am #

    Thanks for the suggestion. Though I’ve been to Joaquin Miller Park a bunch of times, I think I’ve somehow managed to never go to Redwood Regional Park. I’ll make sure to do some hiking there this summer.

Leave a Reply

