New Blog Design & My Favorite Oakland Intersection

6 Jul

I finally got around to updating my blog’s design. Let me know what you think.

Also, I was walking around downtown Oakland yesterday with a camera and got a chance to take pictures of my favorite intersection at Webster and 9th (there are actually a few intersections like this in Chinatown but this is the one I walk through the most):

San Francisco has some of these diagonal crosswalks – the walk signals allow you to cross in any direction from any of the corners. But none of them are as pretty as these.

While these don’t make sense in most parts of the city, I think we could use more diagonal crosswalks in some other heavy pedestrian areas, like near City Center and Rockridge BART.

4 Responses to “New Blog Design & My Favorite Oakland Intersection”

  1. inadvertentgardener July 6, 2008 at 3:30 pm #

    Just walked through that crosswalk today on my way to grab some tasty Vietnamese with a friend of mine — I agree, if a girl could adore a crosswalk, this would be just the kind I would adore. They’re so much more interesting than the standard crosswalk fare.

    I like the new design — looks good!

  2. David July 8, 2008 at 1:48 am #

    Nice new look for the blog, but I miss the bike sculpture!

  3. Barbara Jane Reyes July 8, 2008 at 3:49 pm #

    i work right on 8th @ webster and i *heart* these crosswalks. apparently these came into being due to an elderly pedestrian’s death here, as a motorist ran a red light to get to the alameda tunnel.

  4. dj November 4, 2008 at 11:46 am #

    these things are great – really puts pedestrians out in front like they should be.

Leave a Reply

