Enjoying Breakfast in the East Bay

20 Aug

I’ve been meaning for a while to write a comprehensive post about breakfast spots in the East Bay, but now I’m wondering if I still need to since I stumbled onto Breafast in the Bay. Though it covers spots around the Bay Area, it seems to be pretty heavily Oakland focused.

I really love breakfast so I’m hoping to see more posts over at Breakfast in the Bay. Specifically, I hope to see reviews of some of my favorite places to grab breakfast:

  • Venus Restaurant – it’s in Berkeley but it’s hands down my favorite breakfast spot. The food’s mostly organic and local and I love all of the staff there.
  • Rico’s Diner – my favorite place to stop before work in downtown Oakland. Simple food at great prices.
  • Somerset – I don’t go there that often for breakfast, but I always enjoy it when I go. It’s especially nice to sit outside on their large vine-shaded patio on a sunny day. It’s also just a short walk from my North Oakland home.
  • Rolling Dunes – another place I don’t frequent often enough, mostly because I’m not often near Lake Merritt in the morning.
  • Horseshoe – just opened in Temescal. I haven’t gotten a chance to try it yet but I’m hoping it’s good.

Anything else missing at Breakfast in the Bay?

3 Responses to “Enjoying Breakfast in the East Bay”

  1. David August 20, 2008 at 9:54 pm #

    I’m surprised Mama’s isn’t mentioned on that blog. Love it or hate it, I think it belongs on any compendium of Oakland breakfast spots.

    I have to say, I think Berkeley has Oakland beat hands down when it comes to breakfast. Almost every neighborhood in Berkeley seems to have at least one good-to-great breakfast place.

  2. Becks August 21, 2008 at 8:31 am #

    I’d have to agree about Berkeley beating Oakland on breakfast spots. But it does seem that there have been more and more breakfast places opening in Oakland over the past few years (and some of them are pretty good) so I hope that trend increases.

  3. Chris Horvath August 25, 2008 at 12:10 am #

    I’d tell you about the best breakfast spot in the East Bay, that happens to be missing from your list, but then it wouldn’t be such a secret anymore.

Leave a Reply

