The Beautiful and the Hideous at A Better Oakland

9 Sep

As usual, V Smoothe’s been stirring up debate about Oakland, this week centering mostly around asthetics. She beat me to the punch at complaining about the hideous Kerry Hamill signs that were put up all over Oakland this weekend. Some people seem to like them. I can’t stand them, and I’m not sure it has much to do with my support of Rebecca Kaplan’s campaign. The signs are just ugly and I’m not sure how much they’ll do to help Hamill’s campaign. I’m sure you’ve seen the ubiquitous signs by now so head over and join in the discussion.

On the brighter side, V today unveiled images of the tallest proposed building in Oakland. The Encinal Tower’s 715 foot height is not the only thing to marvel at though – the design is innovative, and I think sleek and beautiful. Here’s one photo snagged from A Better Oakland:

Not everyone over ABO agrees that it’s what Oakland needs right now. What do you think?

The real reason I wrote this blog post was to say how much I love the redesign of A Better Oakland. I generally read ABO through an RSS feed so I hadn’t been over to the site in a while, but the simplified design is gorgeous! Really V, are you trying to show up the rest of us Oakland bloggers? Because that’s what you’ve done. If you haven’t checked out her new design, do it, now. It’s even prettier than Encinal Tower.

One Response to “The Beautiful and the Hideous at A Better Oakland”

  1. V Smoothe September 10, 2008 at 9:05 am #

    Oh, thank you Becks! That’s so nice! I’m glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

