Distractions for Your Monday Morning

15 Sep

I had a lot of time on my hands this weekend, being stuck sick in my apartment, so I decided to take some photos of my balcony garden, which is doing amazingly well. To liven up my pictures, I included “Spud” as the star of the photos.

Spud has a neat story behind him. A few months ago, we threw several old, sprouted potatoes into the compost bin at the other garden I help with in Berkeley. A few weeks later, several potato plants sprouted. A friend of mine dug through the compost last week and found several delicious potatoes, which we ate immediately with herbs from the garden. But Spud was just too interesting looking to eat so my girlfriend gave him some eyes, I named him, and he’s been hanging out on a window, where he brings a smile to my face every time I look in his direction

Hope you enjoy…

Spud hanging out in the parsley forest.

Those two little leaves behind Spud are spinach - a bit hard to see with all the oat grass that's grown from the hay.

As of last weekend, there were 106 tomatoes growing on this hearty plant. We just ate the first ripe ones and they were juicy and delicious. Next year, we want to fill our balcony with these plants, purchased at the Temescal Farmers Market.

In the shade of the basil, which no matter how hard we try, we just can't seem to grow enough of to satisfy our culinary needs.

One Response to “Distractions for Your Monday Morning”

  1. Mary September 15, 2008 at 9:52 am #

    Parsley! That’s what I need to grow more of.😀

Leave a Reply

