Horseshoe, my new favorite breakfast spot

28 Sep

In August, I started to notice a new restaurant in Temescal on my bus rides to and from work. I saw that it was called Horseshoe, but I couldn’t figure out much more about it. There was outdoor seating, huge windows in the front, and lots of flowers outside. I searched online to see what I could find out about it, but it took a while for it to even appear on Yelp. But when it finally did, I found out some very good news – they serve breakfast!

We have no shortage of delicious food here in north Oakland, but our breakfast choices are a bit limited. There’s the Rockridge Cafe, which is passable; Somerset, which is delicious but a bit too pricey and heavy to eat at regularly; and then there’s Hide Away Cafe, which you should never go to – it’s terrible!

So over the past month and a half, I’ve gotten myself pretty excited about trying out Horseshoe, which I finally did yesterday morning.

The restaurant itself is gorgeous. It’s filled with rich wood, colorful paintings, and tons of sunlight. We sat next to the window, and it was great to be able to look out onto Telegraph and feel the breeze. Our waiter was not only nice, but also genuinely funny. So by the time our food arrived, I was already pretty much in love with the place.

My girlfriend ordered blueberry pancakes and I got the ortega omelet. In this case, the pictures certainly do speak louder than words…

The omelet was exactly what I was looking for – the eggs were light and fluffy, and the mixture of the mild chiles, generous heaping of avocado, and tomatoes worked well together. The potatoes were not excellent, but were still good – cooked well, but spiced a bit unevenly. And the salsa fresca was pretty much perfect, which helped both the potatoes and omelet.

My girlfriend loved her pancakes, which were filled with tons of whole blueberries. And with drinks and tip, the whole meal only cost $25.

I’m not sure I can recommend this restaurant highly enough, for breakfast at least. The waiter told us that business has been a bit slow, and I’m guessing that’s because word hasn’t traveled yet. The space is charming, you’ll never have to wait for a table, you can sit outside and enjoy the sun, and if you go on a Sunday, you can wander down to the Temescal Farmers Market afterwords. Also, though this isn’t an issue for me, Horseshoe is very kid friendly. There were several families eating at the restaurant and three kids playing on the floor – they were having a blast, and no one seemed to mind

So head down to Temescal to try it out, and don’t be surprised if you see me there.

Horseshoe
4721 Telegraph Ave
Oakland, CA 94609
(510) 653-5300
Hours: Mon-Sun 10:00 a.m.-11:00 p.m.
Walkable from MacArthur BART or from AC Transit lines 1/1R, 18, 12, 14, and 57.

12 Responses to “Horseshoe, my new favorite breakfast spot”

  1. Jasmine September 28, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    Do you mean Mama’s Royal Cafe, and not Homemade Cafe? Because Homemade Cafe is in Berkeley, but Mama’s is at 40th and Telegraph. I love their home fries, but agree that everything else isn’t great (and their coffee is awful).

  2. Becks September 28, 2008 at 8:01 pm #

    Thanks for the correction Jasmine – I meant the Hideaway Cafe, which is in Oakland.

  3. floribunda September 28, 2008 at 9:01 pm #

    too bad about the Hideaway — it used to be a great place (20+ years ago….)

  4. AustinOAK September 29, 2008 at 3:23 pm #

    Thanks for the recommend – going to try this soon. Really appreciate your restaurant reviews as always. Very very helpful. I want to spend my dollars in Oakland and like trying new places. Oakland First $ (ya know)šŸ˜‰

    C U @ the VP Debate Thursday Nite.

  5. AustinOAK November 6, 2008 at 8:38 pm #

    Horseshoe was Gr8t!

    Second here – a highly recommend. Temescal is really da place now > right? yep.

    Hey – they even had ripe PEAR in their fruit cup. Nice.
    The “Green Chile” Omelette was awesome – the salsa side was really fresh – plus with a few extras added – enjoyed it. Nice vibe there. Like the location. Park on the side street there. Guy out front was really nice. Voted for Rebecca – and C that counts in my book. Met the owner – told him that I stopping by as this was recommended 2 me. Thanks LITO. This will stay in my mix from now on. 4.5 stars and with return top notch visit I will bump upward.

  6. AustinOAK December 5, 2008 at 12:26 pm #

    Been telling everyone about the Horseshoe Restuarant + Mark 49 (Wine & Beer Joint) down the street.

    I have now eaten there about 6-7 times recently. Brunch/Lunch & Dinner. All terrific. What a find.

    Plus just last nite had a beer at Mark 49 just up the street. What a KEWL place. Beutiful funky and very Oakland atmosphere. LUV it! They have an amazing patio “MAZE” and heaters there on now for Winter. I will be right back there again soon. Again Ramsey (Horseshoe) also owns this place. Both are fairly new and unknown. Won’t be long until Temescal discovers both of these. Thanks again LITO!

  7. Becks December 5, 2008 at 12:31 pm #

    I love Marc 49! I’ve only been there a couple times but hope to go back soon.

  8. austinoak December 6, 2008 at 9:21 pm #

    Yes – you know it also – sweet.
    They have a very kewl seating set-up “in-the-round” that they can “set up” for a party of say 10-15 on that back patio (with notice) – which I will do soon. It would make a gr8t little get-2-gether spot for a fair size group of friends. Adam (nice nice guy) that works at Horseshoe also is it at Mark 49 – he is the one that turned me on to it. nifty new place in Temescal.

  9. austinoak December 6, 2008 at 9:30 pm #

    Oh and Bridgette at Horseshoe that works the weekday dinner there is a real sweetie. I told her about LITO and U.Mac & I call you Becka. Sorry we up to our ears in Rebecca’s. Take it as a fond nick-name. I’ve told a bunch of Oaklanders (manyy at my work) and other places recently about LITO ( to promote it) more that they try and check-out specifically Horseshow and could read about it here. Hint Hint. Hoping that they will become readers. They always seem surprised to hear of an Oakland Blog. Guess I was 2 slightly. More that there are many blogs about the “O” out there. UR’s is my favorite.

  10. AustinOAK December 25, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

    LITO – unfortunate news. Mac & I were at Horseshoe yesterday ( X-Mas Eve) and learned the place has been sold and will be a Burmese joint at some point. Adam there was not sure when would be The Horseshoe’s last day > or hisšŸ˜¦

    We are beyond bummed.

  11. Becks December 26, 2008 at 12:01 pm #

    That’s terrible! I’ll make sure to go there for one last breakfast soon.

  12. AustinOAK December 26, 2008 at 7:09 pm #

    I knew U’d be bummed as well. I was SOOooo digging this place. Mac & I were going there fairly frequently. AUSTIN

Leave a Reply

