Where is Kerry Hamill?

23 Oct

So for the past few months, along with dozens of other volunteers, I’ve been working my ass off to get Rebecca Kaplan elected to the Oakland City Council. I’ve done this mostly because I think Rebecca’s an incredible candidate and will be a huge asset to our city.

But I’ve also worked so hard because I’ve been scared. Everyone around me was freaking out that Kerry Hamill was going to run some huge, well coordinated campaign, and the only way we were going to beat that was by a huge grassroots mobilization. We all had heard about Perata raising tons of money through PACs for Kerry’s campaign, and we assumed this would manifest itself in slick mailers, robocalls, or some other campaign outreach.

Right now though, I’m left wondering, where is Kerry Hamill? Where are those PACs, and where is her campaign? I’m not asking this to poke fun at her or her supporters. I’m 100% serious. Nobody I know has received a mailer, phone call, or door knock from her. I don’t hear about her much in the news or the blogosphere. I don’t see her volunteers at farmers markets or other events.

The only evidence I have of the existence of her campaign are the PAC funded signs that are still up all over Oakland, and her campaign office, where apparently phoning happens. Also, last night a friend of mine saw a campaign ad of hers on TV, which ended with the slogan, “Kerry Hamill: For the Change We Need,” which seems a bit strange.

So I wanted to ask my readers, have you seen Kerry or her campaign? Does it really exist?

And don’t worry, whatever the answer is, I’m still going to keep volunteering for Rebecca. I’ll be phoning for her tonight and most of next week because no matter how good I feel about this campaign right now, I’m a worrier by nature and don’t like leaving anything to chance. If you’re a worrier too, join me at Rebecca’s headquarters at 1915 Broadway in downtown Oakland, any night from 5-8:30pm.

13 Responses to “Where is Kerry Hamill?”

  1. AustinOAK October 23, 2008 at 9:57 pm #

    The only time I saw her she came up to my tabling effort a good while back – in late Aug/first Sept. . She said she had volunteers out on the other side of the farmer’s marke – in a blurted out sort of fashiont. I really don’t think so. I think she was out shopping with her daughter. – I’m inclinded even to this day that she was out shopping.

    I do know that the City Council (large number) that originally came out in support of Hamill are reported to be much softer now and (I know of one) that is publicly out for Hamill privately voted for Rebecca in the primary and will in the general and is telling those that ask him to vote Rebecca Kaplan.

    I hope Rebecaa get another chance to get her message out on TV.

  2. ScottPark October 24, 2008 at 9:15 am #

    I got a mailer from her a couple of weeks ago (Rockridge). That’s all I’ve seen. I would expect more, especially now that absentee ballots can be returned.

  3. V Smoothe October 24, 2008 at 9:23 am #

    Along those lines…search term that led to my blog today:

    “does rebecca kaplan have an opponent?”

  4. Becks October 24, 2008 at 10:16 am #

    V – that is too funny! I’ve gotten many similar questions while phoning for Rebecca.

    Scott – I expect to receive a mailer from Kerry soon, as I’m not a permanent absentee voter, but what’s surprising is that many of my absentee voter friends (who are regular voters) haven’t received anything from her. Since tens of thousands have already voted, it seems a bit late to do voter outreach.

    It sometimes seems like Kerry’s already conceded this race.

  5. molly October 24, 2008 at 7:04 pm #

    As a supporter of kerry hamill and someone who has volunteer for her 3-4 times a week since august I take personal offense! We have been phoning districts 1,2,4, and 5 since august and have walked east and west oakland almost every day. Just about every voter I speak to has received her mailer and or seen her commercial. Maybe the reason for this lack of sight in kerry is because kerry is spending time reaching out to ALL voters!!! Please, rebecca kaplan indeed has an opponent! If you have been to any debates or discussions, both were present! So this talk is actually quite nonsense!

  6. AustinOAK October 24, 2008 at 11:19 pm #

    Sorry – no offense intended. I told Kerry I’d support her 100% if she won. I mean it. Oakland is what I really care about and want to see so many Gr*t things for it. I’m glad that Kerry is visible in East Oak. I know that they feel a real lack of empathy for how tough it is there. I live there. Best…

  7. Becks October 25, 2008 at 10:52 am #

    Molly – I agree with Austin here. I don’t think many Kaplan supporters have anything against Kerry, and I have great respect for the volunteer work you and others are doing here. I really was asking these questions in all seriousness because I have seen little evidence of the existence of her campaign.

    Also, I’m not sure what you’re trying to insinuate by saying “kerry is spending time reaching out to ALL voters.” Rebecca is doing the same. Over the past few months, I’ve called voters in north, east, west, and downtown Oakland. I’ve talked to people of most races and ethnicities, all ages (from 18-103), and of all sorts of political persuasions. Even more incredible is the variety of people I’ve seen volunteering for Rebecca. I’ve seen union members phoning next to businessmen, which is so inspiring.

  8. molly October 25, 2008 at 2:11 pm #

    This is obviously a debate that will never be won- I think iam right, you think you are right. We’ll see who’s right on election day I guess. But for as many people who can say “where is kerry hamill” I believe just as many can say “where is rebecca kaplan!”

  9. Becks October 25, 2008 at 2:25 pm #

    Molly – I don’t think there’s a wrong or right here. I actually didn’t say I was right – I was asking a question and wanted to hear from readers of this blog.

    But really, I don’t think anybody could be serious when asking where Rebecca Kaplan is, since she’s practically everywhere. She attends several events a day, her volunteers are at farmers markets and other events on the weekend, her mailer’ has gone out all over the city, and her volunteers are phoning and walking everywhere. Whether you support Kerry or Rebecca, I think it’s pretty clear that Rebecca is extremely visible in this campaign.

  10. molly October 25, 2008 at 9:39 pm #

    Again- this is not something we can compromise on. I live in the piedmont ave neighborhood and HAVE NOT received a mailer. Every debate or discussion group rebecca has attended, so has kerry. And kerry has been out every day at fundraisers, events, house parties, and we generally are staffed at farmers markets. And of course we’ve all seen her blue and gold signs everywhere in the city. And tons of people have told me they’ve seen her commercial, is rebecca’s still running?

  11. JHorner October 26, 2008 at 11:18 am #

    Molly and Becks:

    I think it;’s fair to say that neither of you have a typical voter’s view of what’s going on and who’s visible, since you are both making Oakland a better place by volunteering on a local campaign. As a Rockridge voter, I can tell you that neither of them are super-visible, but Rebecca seems to be a bit ahead here. I’ve received mailers from both, and calls from neither, but Rebecca benefits from also appearing on slate cards. Also, at least in my neighborhood, there are two Rebecca lawnsigns and zero Kerry ones. You also see a Rebecca button or sticker on someone every now and then, and I can;t say the same for Kerry.

    And if I see one more Obama t-shirt, I’m going to frikkin puke!

  12. Terry October 28, 2008 at 11:29 pm #

    I live in Montclair, there are zero Kaplan signs, and several Hamill signs. I have not received a call from Becky’s campaign, each of my family members have received at least two calls from Kerry’s campaign.

    Becky benefits by the Demo Party Endorsement, and numerous slate cards that have been paid for by Dems, and independent expenditures. Becky appeared on a COPS slate card, that also supports Yes on 4 and Yes on 8, it is amazing that a self proclaimed lesbian, now identified as a bi-sexual woman would be associated with the COPS slate card.

  13. Becks October 29, 2008 at 10:15 am #

    There is much confusion over the COPS slate card, which Rebecca did not pay for or ask to be on. Here’s Rebecca’s statement about this issue:

    “I did not pay to be on the COPS voter guide. (Note: that voter guide is not affiliated with any local police group). I have discovered that their guide implies otherwise — they apparently decided to list my name, despite the fact that I did not pay to be included. My presence on it should not be taken as an endorsement of their organization nor their positions. I urge everyone to vote NO on Proposition 8.”

Leave a Reply

