Where to find election results on Tuesday night

2 Nov

The one thing I can’t stand is watching election results on a TV. Sure, they’ll tell us when Barack Obama officially clinches the presidency, but we’ll only get periodic updates about local races and congressional races. That’s why I found some time last weekend to buy an iPhone so I could check in on all the races online while celebrating at Rebecca Kaplan’s victory party. Here are the sites I’ll be checking regularly:

I don’t think any of us Oakland bloggers will be live blogging the election results (if somebody plans to, please let me know), so you’ll have to just check the Alameda County Registrar of Voters website. The registrar has an incredible new feature for this election – custom reporting! You can choose which races to follow so you don’t have to sort through the dozens of races that don’t effect you or that are not competitive. You can set up your custom settings here.

Alameda’s notoriously slow at reporting, so while you’re waiting, check out the live blogging over at Calitics to find out how the state votes on the propositions and on state Assembly and Senate races. It’s possible that Democrats could clinch a 2/3 majority in the Assembly, which would fundamentally change the budget process in the state so it should be an exciting night for California politics.

Similarly, Democrats are poised for another wave election in both the House and the Senate. They’re expected to pick up 20-30 seats in the House, and if it’s a huge wave, they just could pull off enough upsets to clinch a filibuster proof majority (60 seats) in the Senate. Both Swing State Project and Talking Points Memo will be live blogging these results, and I’ll be flipping between them both throughout the night. The first polls close at 3pm PST (in Indiana and Kentucky) and a bunch more close at 4pm so we should start seeing some results in the late afternoon.

There are a bunch of transit intiatives on the ballot in the Bay Area, California, and beyond. The Overhead Wire will be live blogging on these. I’ll be checking there periodically to find out the fates of Measure KK in Berkeley and AC Transit’s Measure V V.

I think it’s going to be a long and exciting night – good thing I’m taking the day off on Wednesday so I can sleep in.

(I’m going to try to find some time tomorrow to post a list of places in Oakland to watch the election results so if you know of any of them, please post them here in the comments.)

2 Responses to “Where to find election results on Tuesday night”

  1. David November 3, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    Nate Silver at fivethirtyeight.com says he’ll be liveblogging too. Tha site’s been a great resource for data and data-based analysis this season, and it might be worth checking in there too for national results.

    As for me, I’ll be in an isolation bubble until most of the the results are in. My PTSD from 2000 and 2004 is still acute, and following the results as they come in isn’t good for one’s heart.

  2. Becks November 3, 2008 at 2:01 pm #

    I understand how you feel David. In 2004, I spent 6 months fundraising for the DNC and then spent the last week of the campaign doing GOTV work in Iowa. I’m not sure I can explain how devastated I felt on election night, and for several months after that.

    But I feel so good about this election. Though I’m still worried about Prop 8, I’m pretty damn sure I’ll be celebrating Obama and Kaplan victories tomorrow night. Hopefully you’ll celebrate too after emerging from your bubble🙂

Leave a Reply

