I’m grateful for Oakland communities

27 Nov

This morning, V Smoothe wrote a really sweet post about being grateful for her readers. That got me thinking about what I’m most grateful for on this Thanksgiving, and I realized that one of the things I’m most grateful for is the various Oakland communities I’m a part of.

Though I’ve lived in Oakland for several years, this is the first Thanksgiving that I truly feel like I’m part of the Oakland community. Between the friends I’ve made through the blogoaksphere, the people I volunteered with on Rebecca Kaplan’s campaign, the activists I’ve met at Mix It Up East Bay, and all the acquaintances I’ve made at stores, the farmers market, restaurants, and bars, I now feel deeply connected to Oakland and the people who live here.

I’m especially thankful for the Oakland blogger community that’s developed over the past couple of years and wanted to thank everyone who’s somehow made the time to keep up a blog. So over the next few days, while you’re recovering from eating too much, check some of them out, and if you’re so inspired, voice your appreciation for the hard work they do to keep us informed and entertained:

(For a much more complete list, check out A Better Oakland’s links page.)

Well, it’s time to stop procrastinating and start making the biggest pot of soup I’ve ever made. Have a great Thanksgiving!

5 Responses to “I’m grateful for Oakland communities”

  1. motoproponent November 28, 2008 at 1:01 pm #

    When I first moved here in ’04 I lived on Treasure Island. I really thought it was cool but the safety on the Island took a nose dive. My house was one of 14 to get invaded and robbed on the same street over the course of 21 days. (That never made it to the media thanks to Chris Daly). I moved to Oakland’s Lake Merrit. People teased me for moving to Oakland to be safer. I must say it took me about a week to fall in love with the City. I loved it so much I finally decided to buy my first house right here in Oakland. The City has a fabulous past and a bright future. Despite the Mayor.

  2. novoscene December 1, 2008 at 4:08 pm #

    Hey becks, thanks for the love. We like you too!!

  3. Crimson December 2, 2008 at 4:46 pm #

    Wow, thanks. Never thought I’d be considered part of the blogoaksphere.

  4. Becks December 2, 2008 at 4:52 pm #

    Crimson – of course you are! Thanks for keeping up with Oakland Streets, and I hope to see more posts there soon. I loved your post on Oakland trees.

  5. Crimson December 3, 2008 at 11:33 am #

    Aw, shucks. Well thanks, and likewise.

Leave a Reply

