Nice gesture, but it doesn’t make up for the rent increase

15 Dec

As I walked in from the freezing cold this evening to my apartment, I saw this sitting in front of my door:

sees-candy

No, I don’t have a secret admirer – the box of See’s chocolates sitting in front of my door was from my apartment manager and landlord. Sure, it’s a nice gesture, but a nicer holiday treat would have been for them to leave me a letter saying that they were not going to raise my rent by $200. It’s kind of like your boss giving you a holiday gift basket and then telling you you’re fired.

Oh well, I guess I’ll go enjoy the chocolates while I think about where we’ll move to next year.

2 Responses to “Nice gesture, but it doesn’t make up for the rent increase”

  1. Joanna December 15, 2008 at 11:36 pm #

    And not just regular See’s Candy, but truffles. Yeah, I can see why they need to raise the rent $200/mo. Not. Especially not in this economy. Although I guess in this economy rents are up while home prices are down… sorry, Becks. Good luck with the search.

  2. Becks December 16, 2008 at 11:35 am #

    The truffles were delicious (a perfect compliment to a warm drink and the sound of rain), but I still would trade them for lowered rent.

Leave a Reply

