Aunt Mary’s Cafe, my new favorite breakfast spot

7 Apr

aunt-marys-cafe-signIf the title of this post looks familiar, that’s because back in September I declared Horseshoe to be my new favorite breakfast spot. Unfortunately, Horseshoe closed a couple months ago so my girlfriend and I have been searching for a place to fill in that gap. On Saturday, I talked her into hopping on the bus with me down to Aunt Mary’s Cafe on Telegraph, in between 43rd and 44th. I had to do some serious convincing, since I had scared her away from Aunt Mary’s a few months ago by showing her City Homestead’s not so steller review of the restaurant (which was later updated). But from the moment we walked in, we could tell that this would soon become a regular weekend morning destination.aunt-marys-cafe-inside

The space itself is gorgeous, actually very similar to Horseshoe except a bit bigger. The huge windows allow sunlight to pour in, and for warmer days, there’s a fair amount of outdoor seating. Also, like Horseshoe, the walls feature rows of art. Unlike Horseshoe, the paint and the wood are much lighter, giving the restaurant a more open and calming feel.

So we were already kind of in love when our food arrived. I ordered the red flannel hash – root vegetables and brussel sprouts topped with two poached eggs and a very pink beet sauce. My girlfriend ordered the pancakes, and we shared a biscuit. Everything was beautiful and delicious.

pancakesI’m not sure I can say enough about my breakfast. I absolutely love root vegetables, and they were cooked and seasoned well. And brussel sprouts are one of my favorite foods that I never get to eat because few others like them and a side of brussel sprouts is usually too much for me to eat on my own. My only complaint about the dish is that the eggs were a bit overdone for my taste, but that really didn’t matter because I wasn’t paying much attention to the eggs. The pancakes were light, fluffy, and very tasty, especially when paired with the jam that came with the biscuit.red-flannel-hash

As we were finishing our meal, a friend of mine was leaving the restaurant and came over to chat. He lives just a few blocks from Aunt Mary’s and said it has become a regular breakfast spot for him. I lamented the loss of Horseshoe, and he replied that though the food was good at Horseshoe, Aunt Mary’s is everything that Horseshoe never was. Though I loved Horseshoe, I’d have to agree. The service at Aunt Mary’s is incredible, while at Horseshoe I sometimes had to walk back to the kitchen to get our server’s attention. And this might be the reason that Aunt Mary’s is thriving, while Horseshoe didn’t make it.

I know I’ll be back soon, and I highly recommend checking it out for brunch or breakfast. Also, Aunt Mary’s just started serving dinner, and it’s BYOB with no corkage fee, so that might be a good option for a cheaper night out.

12 Responses to “Aunt Mary’s Cafe, my new favorite breakfast spot”

  1. Max Allstadt April 7, 2009 at 8:15 am #

    I’ll take my aunt mary the next time she’s in town!

    FYI, just on the other side of the highway, which you can walk under via 42nd or 45th street, there’s a another new cafe, open early, called Your Community Cafe. That highway is an awful divider, especially considering the growth that’s happening mainly on one side of it. Walk under it and take a look. There are little signs that the new wealth of Temescal is trickling across the line, but it’s not enough yet.

    • Becks April 7, 2009 at 9:05 am #

      I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. V Smoothe April 7, 2009 at 8:35 am #

    I love Aunt Mary’s!

  3. Karen Hester April 7, 2009 at 9:44 am #

    Aunt Mary’s is also my favorite breakfast spot and you haven’t lived til you’ve had their Southern Bubble and Squeak–amazing eggs and potatoes with enough chard so that you can eat the flaky biscuit with a good conscience.

    New restaurants in the Temescal include Barlata’s (Spanish tapas bar) and the soon to be opened Burmese Superstar where the Horseshoe used to be at 48th and Telegraph. They should be open by end of April and I predict the line will be out the door based on the popularity of their locations in the City and Alameda. And it’s what we need–a lower priced Asian food option that’s not Korean or Japanese

  4. artemis April 7, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    Incidentally, since I last updated that review last fall we have been back to Aunt Mary’s several times and it’s become a favorite in the brunch rotation—so definitely don’t take the initial review (from its first week or so) as a reason not to go! Both food and service are pretty stellar at this point.

  5. Caramida April 7, 2009 at 9:58 am #

    Try the Pan Perdue. Aunt Mary’s has been one of our faves for a bit, too. Glad to see that other folk like it as much as we do.

    • Becks April 7, 2009 at 10:17 am #

      OMG, the table next to us ordered the Pan Perdue and it looked amazing. I must try it next time.

      • Caramida April 7, 2009 at 10:58 am #

        I had never even imagined that Pan Perdue could be so…. architectural. But yes, also tasty. Now I’m just distracting myself from work thinking about Aunt Mary’s. Totally your fault, you know.

        • Becks April 7, 2009 at 11:04 am #

          I take full responsibility and do not feel guilty in the least🙂

  6. artemis April 7, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    (Oh, and one more thing—on our last visit we had a very hungry small one with us who was literally about to climb the wall. Not only was the service great in general, but they even bumped up her pancake order in the queue to get her food onto the table a few minutes later so that she could start in on it while our food was prepared. Pretty awesome!)

  7. erino April 7, 2009 at 10:33 am #

    Shh! Don’t tell too many people, one of the great things about this place is you never have to wait for a table. We’ve been hear many times, always with our almost-two-year-old and often with other kids as well and they’re great to bring us fruit or milk or, yes, even bump up a pancake in the queue. We love this place… the steak sandwich is the hubby’s fav, I love the pulled pork and if we can handle the sugar, the pain purdue is ridiculously good.

  8. Coolhand Luke April 9, 2009 at 6:37 am #

    So I had a few of my friends in town from Inglewood (LA) and decided to take them all the way to the North for Bakesale Bettys. Unbeknownst to me, Betty’s was closed and we were assed out. Then I remembered the review from City Homestead and knew it was in the neighborhood. So we sought it out and went.

    Aunt Mary’s is a trip. I had never been to a breakfast spot with such an offbeat menu so our group of 18-23 year olds was a bit apprehensive. We had no idea what we were going to eat, but our waitress had no idea what she was in for either. We all decided to try something different (and possibly root vegetablish) and definitely enjoyed it.

    The waitress was a sweet white girl from Buffalo and thouroughly unprepared for our singing, story telling, laughing and flirtatious table of 8 local/out-of-towner college students. The whole experience culminated in a group hug that she was completely taken aback by . . . in a very joyous way. Tips are good, but sometimes you have to give a bit more for good service.

Leave a Reply

