Spring’s Here

16 Apr

In my first year of blogging, I followed the seasons through the produce that was available at the farmer’s market. I covered summer, fall, and winter, but somehow I never made it to spring. So I thought I’d do it now, albeit a bit differently because now I follow the seasons much more so based on what’s growing in our garden.

Most of the plants in our garden were planted recently, but we planted this huge bed of fava beans back in the winter and now all of them are flowering...

Most of the plants in our garden were planted recently, but we planted this huge bed of fava beans back in the winter and now all of them are flowering...

and some small bean pods are starting to emerge. I picked up some favas from the farmers market last weekend and made fava bean risotto, which is incredible. I can't wait to harvest these so I can make fava bean soup.

and some small bean pods are starting to emerge. I picked up some favas from the farmers market last weekend and made fava bean risotto, which is incredible. I can't wait to harvest these so I can make fava bean soup.

Another winter holdover is chard. This chard had been growing on our balcony - well, it wasn't really growing at all, just existing. So we moved it out to the sunshine and now it's doing much better.

Another winter holdover is chard. This chard had been growing on our balcony - well, it wasn't really growing at all, just existing. So we moved it out to the sunshine and now it's doing much better.

Last month, we planted a serious amount of lettuce. All of it is doing well, except for the miner's lettuce, which mysteriously got eaten overnight by some creature (along with all of our parsley and peas).

Last month, we planted a serious amount of lettuce. All of it is doing well, except for the miner's lettuce, which mysteriously got eaten overnight by some creature (along with all of our parsley and peas).

This winter, I stuck some cloves of garlic in the ground, and have recently been enjoying green garlic. So I planted a few more cloves in the bricks surrounding our vegetable bed and this is what they looked like two weeks later.

This winter, I stuck some cloves of garlic in the ground, and have recently been enjoying green garlic. So I planted a few more cloves in the bricks surrounding our vegetable bed and this is what they looked like two weeks later.

But most of the plants above could have been grown in any season. The way I know it's spring is because we've finally planted several tomato plants, like this one...

But most of the plants above could have been grown in any season. The way I know it's spring is because we've finally planted several tomato plants, like this one...

and the apple trees are starting to blossom.

and the apple trees are starting to blossom.

6 Responses to “Spring’s Here”

  1. Lisa April 16, 2009 at 8:35 am #

    Have you tried cooking with fava bean leaves? I was just reading that they have the same flavor but without the prep work.

    • Becks April 16, 2009 at 8:48 am #

      I never have, but since I have hundreds of them, I’ll have to try it. Thanks for the tip.

  2. Jessica April 16, 2009 at 9:25 am #

    beautiful! thanks for sharing the pics.

  3. Alan from Berkeley April 16, 2009 at 2:29 pm #

    Those “midnight marauders” that take down your tender young seedlings are a major discouragement — in the East Bay perhaps most likely slugs.

    We’ve found that the best prevention is to provide alternative goodies for the bad guys to eat, in the form of re-purposing the wilted leaves that have lived too long in the frig — like lettuce, spinach or herbs. Spread a few around the small plants you want to keep, and many more seedlings will survive. We think of this as making offerings to the Gods of the Night — and we’re working on the appropriate chanting to complete the ritual.

    • Becks April 16, 2009 at 3:11 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestion – I’ll have to try that out. But our chickens won’t be happy, as they usually get all of our food scraps.

  4. oaklandhappenings April 18, 2009 at 12:19 am #

    very nice, Becks! I could never make the time for gardening at my past home. Being in an apt now, I have an excuse for that I guess!😛

Leave a Reply

