Living in the O Survey Results

2 Jun

Remember that survey you took, probably a couple months ago? Well here are some of the results.

Topics: The most popular topic here by far is politics, which nearly 90% of you are very interested or interested in. The next most popular is city planning and then public transit & bike/ped issues – we’re an exciting, wonky bunch, huh? But you also are interested in more lighthearted issues, including restaurants, events, and entertainment/arts/music. The only topic you were kind of lukewarm about is farmers market/gardening/recipes, but a few of you were die hard fans of this topic and even said so later in the comments section. So I’m not getting rid of it but might do less of that.

How you read Living in the O: I was surprised to see that 44% of you come directly to this site to read, which I barely do anymore with any site. On the other hand, 46% of you read via an RSS feed and 10% read via links on A Better Oakland, Facebook, etc.

How often you read Living in the O: These results also surprised me. 24% read daily, 50% read every few days, 17% read weekly, and 9% read less frequently than weekly. I guess I’ll have to keep posting regularly to keep up with you.

How you found out about Living in the O: It did not surprise me that more than half of you (52.6%) found out about this blog via A Better Oakland. A significant portion (16.5%) of readers found the blog through stumbling upon it while searching, and the same portion found out through a link from another blog.

For how long you have been reading  Living in the O: Nearly half of you have been reading this blog for more than 6 months, which hopefully means I’ve been doing something right. New readers are still finding the blog though, as about 20% of you had been reading this blog for less than a month (at least at the time surveys were filled out).

Other Oakland blogs you read: Nearly all of you (90.2%) are reading A Better Oakland, and most of you are reading other Oakland blogs, including Future Oakland (57.6%), Oakbook (33.7%), City Homestead (32.6%) Oakland Streets (26.1%), and Oakland Goods (25%). If you’re not reading other Oakland blogs, check out the links in my blogroll or for a more comprehensive listing, see A Better Oakland’s list of pretty much every Oakland blog.

How you feel about event listings: I asked this question because I didn’t want to bother compiling event listings unless people found them useful, and apparently 62.6% of you do. Nearly 20% of you had been to at least one event I’d listed (hopefully that’s grown by now), and 33% of you would miss the events listings if they were gone. Some of you asked about my events page and how this differed from the weekly events listing. Um, it differs because I actually update the weekly listings and only update the events page about once a month. Hopefully soon I’ll find a solution so that there’s an ongoing events listing. Stay tuned…

Your interest in hanging out with blog readers: Most of you were interested in hanging out with other bloggers and blog readers. It looks like we’ll have to do a social event, since 72.1% of you want that. Nearly half of you would also like to go on an Oakland neighborhood tour or visit Oakland landmarks with other blogoaksphere members. I’ll take on organizing a social event this summer, but if anyone’s interested in organizing another event, please email and I can help you promote it.

What you would like to see more of: A few of you mentioned wanting to read more about specific neighborhoods (I’ll try to do that) and the arts, which I’m probably not going to do because that’s not my area of expertise. Other things mentioned were parks, essential experiences (I promise to start back up this series very soon), video, pictures of food from the farmers market, and critical thinking about Oakland culture. I want to mention that if there’s something you want to read about it that’s not being covered by Oakland blogs, you should consider either submitting a guest post or starting up your own blog. Feel free to contact me for guidance.

Other comments: Most of your comments were just sweet messages about appreciating what I do (thanks!), but I have to share a few of the more interesting comments and my responses:

In general, you write a great blog. I wish there was a Berkeley blog that covered life in Berkeley in a similar manner (if there is I haven’t found it). (Several people have asked me about Berkeley blogs, but I’ve yet to find them. Let me know in the comments if I’ve missed something.)

There is not enough information about local politics. This is the best service local bloggers can provide. (Really? And I thought this blog had become too focused on local politics. For more of that though, just head to A Better Oakland.)

It’s very helpful when you end posts with a list of people to write to if we care/share your view on the issue, with email addresses…I’m lazy as far as civic engagement goes but will write/email if it’s easy to do so. (Glad to hear this is helpful, and I’ll continue to do this.)

Maybe if we got enough people, we could get a bar to show KTOP on their TV. Committee hearings would be more enjoyable with cocktails and the ability to shout comments at the speakers. (Yes, yes, yes, yes!!! I’ve been talking about this for months. It would be so much more fun than watching at home on my computer or watching in City Hall. Anyone know of a bar that would host us?)

And my favorite comment: REBECCA YOU NEED TO STAY AWAY FROM AC TRANSIT BECOUSE OF YOUR BEHAVERAL PROBLEMS WITH THEM YOU GOTTING YOUR SELF IN TROUBLE WITH THEM (I honestly have no idea where this came from. Now maybe if this reader had referred to BART instead of AC Transit, but really, am I in trouble with ACT?)

Thanks to everyone who took the survey! If you never took it, you still should, as I will continue to check the results and incorporate your feedback.

7 Responses to “Living in the O Survey Results”

  1. Andy K June 2, 2009 at 9:23 am #

    That last comment is funny/crazy! Be careful on the bus.

    Here is a new Essential Oakland Experience: ride your bike up Tunnel Road to Sky Line/Grizzly Peak. Tunnel Road is not steep at all (o. k. there are maybe two stretches that are a little steep), on a weekend there are tons more bikers than cars, and the views are incredible.

    Thanks for all you do. I always look forward to reading new posts.

    • Becks June 2, 2009 at 9:32 am #

      I can’t tell you how terrifying that sounds to me! Maybe one day I’ll over my fear of biking in Oakland, but I think I’ll start off on the flat streets.

      But if you’d like to write more about it, I’d be happy to host a guest post from you.

      • Andy K June 2, 2009 at 9:52 am #

        Will consider it. Thanks for the offer.

        You could do it!

  2. V Smoothe June 2, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    Don’t be coy, Becks. I’ve seen you at AC Transit meetings and know all about your “behaveral problems”. Sitting there quietly, listening patiently, this is not appropriate for a blogger. You need to be complaining vigorously about Van Hools and trips to Europe, going way over your speaking time and causing a scene when you’re told your time is up, and you need to be much more disruptive. When someone on the Board says something you don’t like, you’re not supposed to scowl and scribble a note to one of your companions – this is rude and excludes others in the audience. Instead, you should interrupt whoever is speaking and shout loudly about your disagreement. Duh.

    • Becks June 2, 2009 at 10:21 am #

      Duly noted. I’ll make sure to “improve” my behavior at future meetings.

      • Eric June 2, 2009 at 10:46 am #

        Becks: the people have spoken. There will be no more “future meetings.” It’s over between you and AC Transit.😉

  3. Georgia June 3, 2009 at 7:03 pm #

    Self promotion – Berkeley, mostly, blogger – http://localecologist.blogspot.com.

Leave a Reply

