Temescal Produce Market fills neighborhood grocery store gap

30 Nov

Recently, I’ve been thinking pretty seriously about moving closer to the middle of Temescal. Right now, I’m technically in Temescal (at least, according to some), but I’m many blocks and a freeway overpass away from 51st and Telegraph and all the great stuff in that area. But there was one reason that had been holding me back – no grocery store! Where I currently live, I can walk to four grocery stores – Whole Foods in Berkeley, Market Hall, Trader Joe’s, and Safeway on College. From 51st, I could still walk to the Safeway on Pleasant Valley, but there’s no way I could do the majority of my shopping there.

But just under a month ago, the Temescal Produce Market opened on Telegraph between 51st and 52nd, and I got a chance to stop in yesterday. It’s certainly not a full-scale grocery store, but they do have nearly all the staples (well, if you’re a vegetarian, and I am). There’s tons of produce, which would be great to augment anything not available at the farmer’s market, but I’m even more excited about their grocery selection, which is mostly organic. The store has a decent bulk foods section, dairy, baking goods (including a huge selection of spices), snacks, frozen food, and plenty more.

I just picked up some half and half because I had done my shopping the day before (but, oddly, Whole Foods was entirely out of organic half and half), but I plan to be back in the future, especially if I move further down Telegraph. For pedestrians, bicyclists, and transit riders, this is the perfect store to run to if you realize you’re missing an ingredient (or a few) or just don’t have time to trek down to one of the bigger stores.

If you’re in the neighborhood, stop by. Here’s some of what you’ll find:

5 Responses to “Temescal Produce Market fills neighborhood grocery store gap”

  1. anonymous December 1, 2009 at 10:29 am #

    you can also fairly easily walk to the Rockridge Trader Joe’s from the 51st and Telegraph area.

  2. david vartanoff December 2, 2009 at 10:11 am #

    while I will check them out, I am dismayed that you failed to list Yasai (across from the ugly Safeway). I have no economic connection other than being a long time customer of this family owned veggie store, but I am by default happier giving money to locals rather than some larger outfit. Bottom line, more fresh food is good.

    • Becks December 2, 2009 at 10:28 am #

      Oops! I actually go to Yasai somewhat frequently so I guess I just wrote this post too quickly.

      I prefer to shop at local businesses too, but when it comes to groceries, I must admit that I do most of my shopping at larger grocery stores. 90% of what I buy is organic and I just can’t afford to do that at some of the smaller stores, as their prices are generally higher. Sometimes it doesn’t seem to be significantly more expensive, but it adds up, and I buy a lot of groceries.

      I do basically all of my produce shopping at the farmer’s market though.

  3. leilagough December 2, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB125856546008953817.html?mod=wsj_share_facebook

    article in WSJ about up and coming temescal…

  4. Michael Moore December 5, 2009 at 9:25 am #

    This place looks like a half-hearted attempt to sell wholesome food in the area.
    Competition means lower prices. Please bring it on in all ways possible !

Leave a Reply

