Beating the flu with ginger soup

28 Dec

I didn’t intend to be MIA for the past week, but I was struck by the nasty flu that’s going around. Also, my computer’s broken again, with the same exact problem as I had last month – the track pad works fine but the mouse keys don’t function at all. So I can read and navigate the web just fine, but cutting and pasting is mostly hopeless and forget about adding in links to a blog post.

I’m feeling better today, and that’s partly due to finally getting some rest after the holidays and partly due to drinking a lot of fluids. In particular, I’ve been working on a huge pot of ginger soup I made last week, which turned out to be the perfect remedy for a sore throat and coughing attacks. This soup was inspired by a recent trip to Cyrus in Healdsburg with my fiance to celebrate our anniversary. The soup there had an incredible ginger broth, but it was filled with pickled mushrooms and vegetables, which I’m not a fan of, so I decided to make my own version at home, minus pickling.

My guess is that you might be sick, recovering from the flu, or trying to avoid getting sick, so I thought I’d share the recipe here. The vegetables I list below are the vegetables I used for the soup, mostly because they happened to be in my kitchen already, but this soup could work with many other winter vegetables (turnips, chard, parsnips, etc.) so substitute whatever you happen to have on hand.

Ginger Soup

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3-4 stalks celery, diced
  • 2-3 small potatoes, cubed
  • 3-4 carrots, diced
  • Half bunch kale, cut into long, thin strips
  • 1 can cannellini beans, drained (could substitute lima beans, kidney beans, black-eyed peas, etc.)
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • Small fresh ginger root, peeled and minced
  • Salt to taste

Heat the olive oil in a large pot. Add onions and cook until translucent. Add celery, potatoes, and carrots and heat for 2-3 more minutes in oil, stirring regularly. Add kale, ginger, and vegetable broth. Make sure you have enough broth to cover the vegetables – if not, add water or more broth to cover. Cook soup until vegetables are cooked completely (test with fork or just taste the veges). Add beans and, if desired, salt and cook for 5 more minutes.

Note: This soup is excellent to eat immediately, but it is even better to eat as leftovers, as the ginger flavor grows in strength overnight.

If ginger’s not your favorite, check out a couple of warming recipes I shared last December.

One Response to “Beating the flu with ginger soup”

  1. mark December 31, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

    Made the soup. Ate one bowl. Felt better immediately. (Even adjusting for the anticipated placebo effect, I note that my sinuses are opening up and I’m breathing more easily.) Thanks. I made one small adjustment to the recipe — I chopped up half a lemon and tossed it in with the ginger. (Lemon and ginger make me so happy!) I have two cartons leftover — one to freeze and one to use for supper tomorrow night. Thanks for the recipe and happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

