The perfect evening at Citron

10 Mar

I’m embarrassed that it’s been an absurdly long time since I’ve done a restaurant review here (since August!). I’ve been enjoying many new and old restaurants in Oakland, but I guess I haven’t been inspired enough to write about them. That, and City Homestead does such an excellent job keeping up with new restaurants that sometimes I feel like I’m off the hook.

That changed on Monday night, when I had easily the best meal I’ve eaten all year.

Though me and my fiance live only a long walk away from Citron in Rockridge, we had never managed to eat there. We often go next door to A Cote, but Citron never managed to lure us in. On Monday night though, we wanted to stay close to home and have a relaxing night out, but so many of our favorite spots are closed on Mondays. So we finally made it to Citron.

Everything about our dinner was perfect. The ambiance of the small restaurant was just what we were looking for – elegant, but still cozy and comfortable. The service was excellent – our waiter checked on us just enough and knew plenty about the menu but was never overbearing. And my only complaint about the food is that we ordered too much (note to self: never go with the full three course tasting menu again).

Here’s what we ate. Please excuse the graininess of my iPhone photos and know that the food looked much better than this in person.

The squash ginger soup was exactly what I needed on this cold, windy night.

Oh seafood - why must you call to me whenever my fiance (or anyone else) orders you? This plate was tempting but I managed to just appreciate by looking (or maybe staring).

This picture doesn't come close to doing the dish justice. These sweet potato gnocchi with mushrooms and walnut were tender, slightly sweet, and covered with a light, savory sauce. The portion was giant though - easily big enough for two.

Though I didn't taste the salmon, the rest of this dish was delicious. I never would have thought to combine beets with brussel sprouts, but the combination was delicious.

The chocolate cake was super cute but a bit too rich for our tastes.

The pear tart might not have looked as pretty, but it was incredible. The crust in particular was flaky, buttery, and complemented the pear and vanilla ice cream perfectly.

Though we’ve waited so many years to check it out, I’m sure we’ll be back to Citron soon, although not too often because it is a bit too pricey to make it into our regular rotation. If you’ve never been, I highly recommend it, particularly for a romantic dinner or special occasion.

4 Responses to “The perfect evening at Citron”

  1. Janet March 10, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    Nice review Becks, and thanks for it. I too have been meaning to try Citron all these years, but never have.

    But I was pulled up short in the middle of your post by this: “Though me and my fiance live only a long walk away from Citron…”

    I’ll give you a subject next Tuesday for your object today…

    • Becks March 10, 2010 at 10:52 am #

      In blogging, it’s important not to let the perfect be the enemy of the good, particularly with grammar. Otherwise, I’d never post anything.

  2. Liz May 7, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    sad to learn Citron is now closed!

    • Becks May 7, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

      OMG, that’s horrible! I wonder when that happened. I walked by just a few weeks ago and they were still open.

Leave a Reply

