Blogging hiatus

2 Jul

I’ve known for the last several weeks that my life was becoming too busy to keep up with, and though I was in a bit of denial about it, I probably knew that blogging would have to be sacrificed eventually. I’ve finally hit that point – I’m going on a blogging hiatus, at least until after my wedding, on August 7th. I might post something here and there (particularly an update about my new neighborhood), but mostly I won’t be writing here.

I might have made the decision to pause blogging sooner, but there’s just so much to write about these days and I had a hard time coming to terms with not being able to cover some of these incredibly important issues. I haven’t gotten to write anything about the Oakland budget and negotiations with the police union or about the equally important but less high-profile AC Transit negotiations with their unions. I wasn’t able to share my joy here on Wednesday when Rebecca Kaplan announced her run for Mayor (though I did get to share that excitement with many of you at her party Wednesday night). I won’t be able to write about the Oakland Airport Connector, which BART has once again revived after the FTA put it on life support. And maybe most difficult for me, I won’t get to continue the weekly events listing, which I’ve recently started to realize many people read and some people (including myself) somewhat depend on.

So during my hiatus, I invite readers to submit a guest post. It’s really easy – just check out any of the past guest posts to see how wide-ranging they’ve been. As long as your post is about Oakland and is factually based, I’d be happy to post it, even if I don’t agree with it. You can email me at oaklandbecks at gmail dot com or use the contact page to get more details. I’d especially love it if someone was willing to put together the events listing, whether it be weekly or even for just one week, and I’d be happy to point you to the resources I use to compile it.

But before starting my hiatus, I do need to weigh in on the one thing that seems to be on just about every Oaklander’s mind right now – the trial of Johannes Mehserle, the death of Oscar Grant, and the expected repercussions of various verdict possibilities. I can understand the level of emotion over the killing of Oscar Grant and why so many want to see justice served and will be deeply hurt if they feel it is not. But a repeat of what happened a year and a half ago will not create justice. I’m fully supportive of protest and non-violent civil disobedience; in fact, I’ve practiced it multiple times. But as this excellent video from Youth Uprising (that V Smoothe posted yesterday) expresses, violence is not justice:

If you are looking for an outlet to express your emotion following the verdict, Youth Uprising and Urban Peace Movement are “Violence is Not Justice” community event on the day the verdict comes down. Join them at 5pm at Youth UpRising, 8711 MacArthur Blvd., Oakland, CA 94605.

If you’d like to keep up with me during my blogging hiatus, follow me on Twitter @OaklandBecks. If you haven’t joined Twitter, this would be a good time to do so, as it will likely be one of the best places to keep up with verdict and protest news.

4 Responses to “Blogging hiatus”

  1. Sean Sullivan July 2, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    This is a tragedy.
    With you on hiatus and VSmoothe posting less and less I think we’re losing important voices on our city’s future at a critical time.
    Come back soon Becks!

    • Becks July 2, 2010 at 11:37 am #

      Thanks Sean, and don’t worry, I’ll definitely be back sometime in August

      • Hometown grrl September 6, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

        it is september…if not now, when, if not not you or V then who?

  2. oaklandhappenings July 8, 2010 at 4:10 am #

    “I won’t be able to write about the Oakland Airport Connector… after the FTA put it on life support”.

    No, it was not put on life support– just further delayed because of actions from opposition. BART is working on meeting Title VI requirements, and further progress could be made towards making the OAC reality before year’s end.

Leave a Reply

