#KRON4SUCKS and Twitter rocks

9 Jul

I know I’m supposed to be taking a break from blogging, but along with just about everyone in Oakland, last night has made me think a lot. To express everything I’m feeling and thinking here would be next to impossible, and even if it was possible, I just don’t have the time or energy to fully express myself and I’m sure others will be telling the stories of last night much more eloquently.

But I did want to write about how I kept up with the events of last night. From the moment I heard that the Mehserle verdict was going to be released, I tuned into Twitter, and that was the last thing I looked at before going to bed last night. For a few hours in between, I watched local TV news coverage, mostly KRON 4, as it was the only station that had uninterrupted coverage.

And I have to say, the coverage on Twitter vs KRON 4 was like night and day. On Twitter, tweets were by and large thoughtful and reflective, sometimes humorous or angry, and often incredibly informative. It was easy to keep up with the minute by minute action on Twitter. To everyone who shared their feelings or information last night on Twitter – thanks! It really helped me keep perspective on the evening.

KRON also did a decent job with the informative aspect – they always shared what was going on – but they were generally totally unthoughtful and were downright disrespectful at many points.

Their coverage finally made me so angry that I turned the TV off because I couldn’t take them treating the looting as a spectator sport and constantly dissing the police, the protesters, and Oakland simultaneously. They made it seem like the looting of Foot Locker was the biggest tragedy ever, except that maybe to them the bigger tragedy was that the police weren’t saving all the shoes and instead were holding their ground in keeping the protesters in one area (which seemed like a pretty smart strategy given last year).

As many people expressed on Twitter last night and this morning, #KRON4SUCKS. So next time you need thoughtful news, tune into Twitter. If you still haven’t started an account because you think it will take up too much time, know that you don’t have to keep up constantly or even every day. I sometimes don’t check in for days or just check in while I’m waiting for the bus. It’s totally worth the small time commitment to be able to keep up with important news or find out about events. I’d mention all the people to follow, but there are too many that I wouldn’t know where to start. Feel free to check out the list of who I follow to get started.

And if you have thoughts you’d like to share on the Mehserle verdict or last night’s protests, please share them as comments below.

4 Responses to “#KRON4SUCKS and Twitter rocks”

  1. Andy K July 10, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    I gave up on TV news a long, long time ago. I can’t stand it – they dumb it down to the point of being ridicules. Newspapers are heading the same way. The Tribs news coverage is there already.

    Not at all surprised by their coverage of the looting – violence sells.

  2. jackie July 10, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    NBC’s 5 o’clock coverage was actually really good, but once 7PM rolled around I too tuned to KRON for uninterrupted coverage.

    KRON’s coverage was laughably bad. I mean, they literally NEVER moved their camera. Same location, behind police cars, away from anything that was actually happening, the entire night. Just pan, zoom in, out, pan, repeat. And them reading comments on their blog as reporting, instead of, you know, interviewing any of the protesters.

    Also them being worried about Jeff’s life in peril was always funny. JEFF ARE YOU OK?

  3. SA July 10, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    The KRON comment that had me storming out of the room in disgust: “It really feels like Oscar Grant died!”

    Jackie’s take on KRON’s total inability to be near anything of substance is right on. I watched nearly 3 solid hours of coverage and saw not a single person actually having a speak-out, didn’t see the prayer circles I heard about via Twitter, nothing. They were trying to whip up tension to reduce their cognitive dissonance – how can all these black people be angry and yet not be tearing stuff up???

    I also noticed not a single anchor or correspondent of color on any of the stations I flipped to.

  4. CJ July 10, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    I completely agree with everyone’s assessment of KRON’s coverage. I have never in my life seen “reporting” that was this bad. Sensationalism, a complete lack of respect (for people for facts, for everything), lack of any real reporting skills–this footage should be screened for students in journalism school to illustrate exactly how NOT to cover an event.

    My high school journalism teacher is turning in her grave…

    Long live Oakland and Twitter; shame on you, KRON.

Leave a Reply

