Franklin Square Wine Bar reincarnated as the Punchdown

1 Dec

UPDATE 2: The official opening of Punchdown is today (Tuesday, December 7th). Though the website had teased me and said they’d be open 7 days a week, it now says they will be closed Sundays and Mondays. Sad.

UPDATE 1: I walked by today (Friday, December 3rd), and though the windows were still covered in newspaper, the sign said they are holding their grand opening party tonight from 6-9pm.

For the past year, since Franklin Square Wine Bar closed, I’ve walked past the storefront every day, glancing to see if anything had changed inside. And everyday I saw the same thing – a restaurant and wine bar that appeared as it should be opening that evening, still full of tables, chairs, decor, and even wine glasses. I kept wondering if they’d ever clear it out or were just planning to tease me for years to come.

On Monday I walked by and was startled by this sign in the window:

Finally, the teasing has ended!

I couldn’t see inside much, as most of the windows were covered by newspaper, but according to their website they’re opening today.

Whether they’re opening today or not, I’m so excited about the return/reincarnation of FSWB, as it used to be one of my favorite places to grab a bite to eat and a glass of wine. And though I have no idea how different the Punchdown will be, I do know that like FSWB they will be open on Mondays (and every other day of the week), which is awesome, since so few restaurants downtown are open on Mondays. Oh, and they serve lunch too so here’s another place to add to the growing list of downtown lunch options.

I’ll try to stop in this week to check if they’re open and to grab a glass of wine, but if you make it there before me, please share your thoughts.

3 Responses to “Franklin Square Wine Bar reincarnated as the Punchdown”

  1. V Smoothe December 1, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Awesome news! I had no idea this was happening. Can’t wait to check it out.

  2. Billy Mumford December 1, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    I walk past there every day too, and was very excited to see the sign a couple of weeks ago. Doesn’t look like they’re opening today, but I saw someone in there working this evening when I went by on the way home–I think they should be ready soon.

  3. Hometown grrl December 2, 2010 at 1:34 am #

    I walked by on Tuesday. I was wet between the legs upon noticing the open door and big worker men doing what worker men do.

Leave a Reply

