Why I’m running to be your delegate to the California Democratic Party

23 Dec

For the past two years, I’ve served as an appointed delegate to the California Democratic Party (CDP). I have to admit that this was an appointment I sought at the last minute and I didn’t know much about what I was getting myself into. But I knew that I wanted to get more involved in the Party, and this seemed like a good way to do that.

I soon found out that being a delegate can be fun and empowering, but also at times trying and demanding of hard work. I attended the last two conventions and cast some very important votes to elect new party leadership, to endorse ballot initiatives for the 2009 statewide special election, and to endorse candidates for statewide office this year. I stayed for every last vote but was appalled that not everyone did the same. Particularly in 2009, it seemed as if half of the delegates had left by the time the endorsement votes came up for the special election initiatives on Sunday afternoon.

This is part of the reason I’m running to be a CDP delegate for 2011-2012. I’m willing and eager to not only attend every convention and stay for every last vote, but also to work on campaigns leading up to the convention. In 2009 I helped the 16th AD caucus with our No on 1A campaign, which led to the Party staying neutral on the initiative by just a couple dozen votes, even though the state elected officials pushed hard for support. This year, I led outreach leading up to and at the convention for Yes on 19 campaign. We secured 500 signatures from delegates on our Prop 19 statement of support and talked to hundreds of other delegates at the convention. Though the Party ultimately stayed neutral on 19, our work shifted the conversation.

I want to continue this important work so I’m asking for your vote for 16th AD delegate to the CDP. The vote takes place on Saturday, January 8th from 2-4pm at Laney Community College Theater, 900 Fallon St. All registered Democrats in the 16th AD can vote. The 16th AD covers all of Alameda and Piedmont, and the vast majority of Oakland (if Sandre Swanson is your assemblymember, than you live in the 16th). You can come and stay for the meeting and speeches, but if you only have a few minutes, you can vote and then leave. It’s quick, easy, and incredibly important for the future of the California Democratic Party.

You might be wondering how you’ll vote for me if you don’t who I am. I’m guessing most of this blog’s readers know me by now, but for those who don’t, my name is Rebecca Saltzman. Here is my candidate statement:

I am currently an appointed 16th AD delegate and associate member on the Alameda County Democratic Central Committee. As President of the East Bay Young Democrats, I’ve worked to increase the representation of young people in the leadership of the Party. Since high school, I’ve been active in electing Democrats and fighting for progressive causes. The day after graduating from UC Berkeley, I began leading a fundraising office that ultimately raised more than $1 million for the DNC. I was Deputy Campaign Manager for the Yes on Prop 19 campaign, which garnered more votes than any statewide Republican candidate, including Meg Whitman and Carly Fiorina, and made marijuana policy reform mainstream in California and nationwide. I spend much of my time volunteering with the Democratic Party, and for transit, environmental, and good government advocacy groups. I have attended and done outreach at the past two CDP conventions, and am familiar with party structures and procedures. If elected, I will bring energy, commitment, and diverse experience to the role of 16th AD Delegate, and will use my position to get more people, especially young people, involved in our party.

I hope you’ll save the date and take few minutes out of your day on January 8th to vote for me. Two years ago, some of the delegate elections came down to literally one vote so this is truly an election where every vote counts.

You can vote for up to 6 men and 6 women, and I’m running on the UFCW Unity Slate so I hope you’ll vote for our full slate:

Men:

  • Sean Dugar
  • Joel Freid
  • Richard Fuentes
  • Abel Guillen
  • Dan Rush
  • Sean Sullivan
Women:
  • Ronnie Caplane
  • Emmy Fearn
  • Jennifer Pae
  • Chantal Reynolds
  • Rebecca Saltzman

I’ll write another blog post with a reminder closer to the election date, but for now, please mark the date and time on your calendar.

Also, if you’re so inclined, you can do the following:

If you have any questions about my candidacy, our slate or the process, please feel free to ask. I hope to see you on January 8th and hope to continue serving as your 16th AD delegate through 2012!

4 Responses to “Why I’m running to be your delegate to the California Democratic Party”

  1. Dave C. December 23, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    Is there any other way to vote, for those of us who can’t be at Laney that afternoon?

    • Becks December 23, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

      Unfortunately, I don’t think so. You have to be present to vote.

  2. Hometown grrl December 23, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Do you all have FB pages? I dislike voting slates. I would like to know more about each individual.

Leave a comment