Take part in Bike to Work Day this Thursday

11 May

Tomorrow, May 12th is Oakland’s annual Bike to Work Day, and even though I don’t bike to work (actually, I don’t bike at all in Oakland), I’m very excited about it. But I have a terrible confession to make – I’ve never taken part in any Bike to Work Day festivities. One year I was working, another year there was an Oakland Airport Connector hearing, and one year there was a conflicting event at night.

This year I’m ending that streak though and will be volunteering in the morning for the raffle at Frank Ogawa Plaza at 14th and Broadway. You should stop by and visit me, as we’ll be raffling off some awesome prizes! Here’s some of what will be going on in the Plaza:

Walk Oakland Bike Oakland is organizing pedal pools in the morning, giving you the opportunity to bike to work with your councilmember. Join councilmember Jane Brunner (District 1), Pat Kernighan (District 2), Nancy Nadel (District 3), or Libby Schaaf (District 4) to ride to the Bike to Work Day festivities. Here’s the map of the routes:

Find out more about the pedal pools on WOBO’s website.

And if you’re not a morning person, don’t worry – there’s a Bike to Work Day Afterparty in Old Oakland from 5:30-8:30pm at 8th and Washington, featuring music, food, entertainment, beer, and (of course) bikes. Find out more and RSVP on Facebook.

I hope to see you tomorrow morning or evening to celebrate Bike to Work Day!

3 Responses to “Take part in Bike to Work Day this Thursday”

  1. Gene May 11, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Great write-up. I’ll be volunteering at 14th and Lakeside🙂

  2. Karen Hester May 11, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Becks you are everywhere so it’s cool you are taking the time to volunteer! And if you’re reluctant to bike, EBBC has the best safety classes around to get you on a bike. I’m organizing the Bike Away from Work Party and we’ll have beer, food, live music and so much more! For details visit http://www.ebbc.org/awayparty.

    Bike to Work Day is one of my favorite days even though I bike everyday as there’s always this sly look on almost every pedaler’s face I see like “Hey, I know you know how good it feels to be propelling yourself through the streets of the East Bay with the trees, the flowers and the wind at your back.”

    • Joan Lichterman May 11, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

      Becks, I’ll see you at Frank Ogawa Plaza. I expect to meet the folks riding with Jane Brunner from the Claremont/College Safeway at 7:45. And I hope to see both of you at the After party.

Leave a Reply

