So You Think You Can Dance: The Paramount’s in Oakland, not San Francisco

31 May

I don’t know how many of you watched the season premiere of So You Think You Can Dance last week. (For those who didn’t and who probably are wondering why I’m writing about this and how it could possibly be connected to living in the O, just bear with me for a moment.) The episode was super exciting for me because it featured the Paramount, where the Bay Area auditions happened, and more so because my brother-in-law was one of the people auditioning.

Throughout the episode, the Paramount was featured. They showed off the stage, many of the beautiful interior details, and the marquee outside. It was awesome to see the Paramount highlighted so much.

What was not so awesome was that the show pretended that the Paramount was in San Francisco! And it wasn’t just a slip up done once or twice. Throughout the show, the auditions were referred to as the San Francisco auditions, and the scenery footage used was of the Golden Gate Bridge and other iconic San Francisco landmarks.

It would have been one thing if the auditions took place in some nondescript auditorium in Oakland, but to feature one of Oakland’s most beautiful theaters in one of the most vibrant parts of the city and to call it San Francisco is just wrong. If I had been tuning in for any other reason than to watch my brother-in-law, I’m sure I would have turned the show very quickly out of frustration.

Luckily, in between the announcer lying about the location of the auditions, I got to see my brother, Jeffrey McCann aka Bboy Machine, dance. I’ve seen him dance dozens of times (if not more), including at my and my wife’s wedding last summer, so I knew he would be amazing.

Jeff doing windmills at our wedding.

As usual, he was amazing on the show and thoroughly impressed the judges:

So overall I was pretty pumped up at the end of the episode, but I was still really annoyed that the show had the audacity to say it was filmed in San Francisco. I know it’s not the first time it’s happened on TV and I’m sure it’s not the last, but it’s still really frustrating. Maybe one day Oakland will get the full credit it deserves for its beautiful landmarks, delicious food, diverse entertainment options, and so much more.

One Response to “So You Think You Can Dance: The Paramount’s in Oakland, not San Francisco”

  1. grrljock June 1, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Yes, I was highly irritated by this as well! I thought I recognized the interior of Paramount even before the show announced its “San Francisco” auditions. Though Cat Deeley did hedge and say “Bay Area” and “from Oakland” (for a couple of dancers) a few times. Also, I was a bit mortified that a couple of the–ahem–non-dancers they featured (always part of the auditions) were truly Oaklanders.

Leave a Reply

