Awaken Cafe is back!

13 Jul

 

 

UPDATE: The Awaken Cafe cart opens tomorrow, Friday, July 15th!

Awaken Cafe has always been one of my favorite Oakland cafes so when they closed about a year ago, I was super sad. Since then I’ve missed their absolutely delicious chai, foam art, and friendly staff. I’ve tried out many cafes downtown and now have a few I rotate between, but none of them have filled Awaken’s spot for me.

I’ve been closely watching their new space on Broadway at 15th for the past few months, watching for signs of progress and telling everybody I walked by with that someday Awaken would reopen there.

So you can imagine how excited I was yesterday when on my way back to work from lunch I saw this sign:

I’m so glad they’re moving forward with the coffee cart while they work on the full build out, and since it’s July, they must be opening any day (or maybe they are already open?). I’ll stop by this morning to find out. UPDATE: I went by this morning and they’re not open yet.

If you’re an Awaken fan, stop by their new spot at Broadway and 15th some morning soon to support them, as I’m sure they could use some funds to help the full build out.

2 Responses to “Awaken Cafe is back!”

  1. bethh July 13, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Oh, that’s great news! I really like their coffee and the feel of the old place. Also, I was a kickstarter contributor and never picked up my free coffee… I hope I can find my receipt and that they still honor it!🙂

Leave a Reply

