I’m running for BART Board

21 Mar

Two months ago I abandoned this blog, and I apologize for that. Soon after BART Director Bob Franklin announced that he would not seek reelection and would instead run for Oakland City Council, I decided to run for the open District 3 BART seat. The campaign has taken up the vast majority of free time in my life, including the time in the early mornings and late evenings that I used to dedicate to blogging.

As has happened in the past when I got busy, I optimistically thought I’d find some time to write a blog post here and there, but clearly that has not happened. So today I wanted to let Living in the O readers know that I’m taking a blogging hiatus, and I of course wanted to share the news that I’m running for BART Board.

If you’re a longtime reader, you know that I’m passionate about transportation and land use issues and have a particular interest in public transit. I’ve been following the BART and AC Transit Board for years and have advocated on multiple issues before their boards, as well as before regional transportation agencies like the Metropolitan Transportation Commission and the Alameda County Transportation Commission.

Last year I went through the Emerge eight month training program for Democratic women who want to run for office because I knew that at some point I wanted to run for office to further engage on the issues I’ve been involved with as an advocate. I didn’t realize at the time how soon I would be running, but I’m ready and eager to take on this challenge.

I won’t be blogging much between now and the November election, but if anyone is interested in writing a guest blog post, I still have time to edit and post those so please contact me at oaklandbecks at gmail dot com to set that up.

If you’d like to keep up with my campaign, you can sign up for email updates (probably one or two a month). You can also keep up with the campaign through Facebook and Twitter.

I’d greatly appreciate your support for my campaign. You can support the campaign by donating, endorsing, signing up to volunteer, and spreading the word online.

The blogoaksphere community that’s developed over the past five or so years has been incredibly important to me, so even if you’re not interested in getting involved with my campaign, please do keep in touch via Twitter, email and in person (I’ll be at many events throughout District 3 in the coming months.)

4 Responses to “I’m running for BART Board”

  1. Andy K March 21, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    Best of luck! You will make a great addition to the Board, and you have my vote!

    I will miss your blogging, but can totally relate to being too busy to do everything I’m passionate about. With that said, I hope to be able to help out this summer.

    • Sharon Jeffery April 20, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

      Good Luck!
      Sharon Jeffery, retired teacher and former host of TV Host, “MS. SHARON” ROMPER ROOM AND FRIENDS” is a candidate forelection as a delegate to the Democratic National Convention, District 13 encompassing Oakland and Berkeley.
      Voting takes place on April 29, 2012 at SEIU at 560 Thomas L Berkeley Way Oakland, Ca. 94110. Ms. Jeffery is also former CHILDCARE COMMISSIONER, City of Oakland, a member of the Oakland Education Association, California Teachers Association and the National Education Association. She is a member of Allen temple Baptist Church.
      Registered Democrat voters may vote from 2:00 – 3:00 PM. The caucus starts at 3:00 PM and concludes at 3:15.

      Individuals who are not registered to vote may register as a Democrat at the site and vote.

  2. DD April 6, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    I’ll gladly give up reading your excellent blog to have your brain focused on BART instead. So excited I live in your district and can vote for you!

Leave a Reply

