Going Away, Coming Home

12 Aug

Posting’s been a bit light here lately because I’ve been traveling, but that hasn’t stopped me from thinking about Oakland. When I was at the Oakland Airport this Friday, I got a chance to take a closer look at Going Away, Coming Home, which I wrote about a couple weeks ago. Also, my girlfriend had her camera with her so she snapped some much better shots than I was able to capture on my cell phone.

I’ve been to dozens of airports, many of which feature art, but I think this piece is my favorite. And the title couldn’t be more appropriate. It’s a really great way to leave the city and to be greeted back home.

Apparently, I’m not the only one who appreciates the work of Hung Liu:

“Going Away, Coming Home,” a major public art installation created by Mills College art professor Hung Liu and installed last year at Oakland International Airport, has been selected as one of 40 “innovative and exciting examples of American public art” included in the Americans for the Arts “2007 Year in Review” award. Chosen from more than 240 public artworks worldwide, Liu’s project will be highlighted in a CD-ROM of images to be released this summer.

It’ll be a while before I’m back at the airport, but when I do return I’ll likely go out of my way to make sure I see this beautiful work of art again (and again, and again).

Leave a comment