DIY Bus Stop Furniture

8 Jul

This morning, I walked up to my bus stop on 59th & Telegraph and saw this:

I’m guessing someone from the city or county will haul this away soon, but until then, bus riders have a more comfortable place to wait. And since AC Transit recently installed a NextBus screen at this stop, it should be easy to sit back, relax, and not worry about missing the 1 or 1R.

6 Responses to “DIY Bus Stop Furniture”

  1. David July 8, 2008 at 3:37 pm #

    I love it! Your post reminds me of
    this
    and this.

  2. Becks July 8, 2008 at 3:59 pm #

    OMG I love that IKEA bus stop! I really wish municipalities hadn’t started making bus benches so uncomfortable several years ago, just to prevent homeless people from sleeping on them.

  3. Roomful Express Furniture July 9, 2008 at 7:15 am #

    How fun! I love the links to the cool Ikea promotions too.

  4. Christine July 11, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    That chair has personality! Is it still there?

  5. Becks July 12, 2008 at 8:07 am #

    Sadly, it was already gone the next day.

  6. Atlantic Furniture May 29, 2009 at 7:28 pm #

    Now all you have to do is worry about falling asleep and missing the bus. When I was younger I used to live behind a furniture store and they would always throw all kinds of old furniture in the back of the building by the dumpster and me and my friends would always play on it and lounge around reading books.

Leave a comment