Friday Links and Thoughts

26 Sep

There’s been some excellent writing in the blogoaksphere this week, so I thought I’d share some of it with you:

  • Chip Johnson really went after Mayor Dellums this week. First, he called for a recall. Then, he spent an entire column sharing opinions from his readers about Dellums, and, well, they weren’t too flattering. Here’s a choice, depressing quote:

“I’m looking for a new home outside Oakland because I am so fed up with how the city is run,” Smith wrote in an e-mail.

  • Eric at Transbay Blog, who I finally got to meet last night at CBS’s blogger party, shares the depressing news of transit funding being slashed from the state budget, which will directly effect AC Transit and other local transit agencies.
  • That reminds me, I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned CBS 5’s Eye on Blogs blog, written by Britney Gilbert, who I also had the pleasure of meeting last night. Brittney regularly sifts through hundreds of Bay Area blogs and posts links to some of the most interesting stories. And apparently, she’s the only blogger in the country doing this type of work for a news station. If you’re looking to stumble onto some new blogs, it’s a great resource. Thanks to Brittney and CBS for the awesome party last night!
  • I really had planned to go to the zoning update meeting last night, but when I heard V Smoothe was going to be there, I knew she’d report back with any interesting information so I was free to party instead (thanks V!). I saw her last night and she couldn’t stop talking about how everyone who cares about this city really should go to the next zoning update meeting because though most of the information presented was boring to her (she already knows pretty much everything about zoning in Oakland), it’s really useful information for Oaklanders to learn. Check out her full report on the meeting, including info on next Saturday’s meeting.
  • Critical Resistance, a group that advocates for reform of the prison sytem, is holding it’s 10th anniversary conference here in Oakland. If you have some time, I highly recommend stopping by, especially since it’s free.

Leave a Reply

